Alcantara wins the NL Cy Young Award without a doubt

OKBET Play Sports Online alcantara

The 2022 National League Cy Young Award went to Sandy Alcantara, the star pitcher for the Miami Marlins. Alcantara received all of the votes possible.

Alcantara is the 15th player in National League history to do so

As the first player in Marlins history to win this award, and the first since Clayton Kershaw in 2014. Julio Urias, a left-handed pitcher for the Los Angeles Dodgers, came in third place, while southpaw Max Fried of the Atlanta Braves finished in second place.

The following is a rundown of the top five, as determined by the votes of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America:

Aaron NolaPhillies564248
Zac GallenD-Backs356645
OKBET Play Sports Online alcantara

In 2022, when bullpens were at the height of their popularity, Alcantara reversed the trend and established himself as the major league’s premier workhorse starter. The 27-year-old pitcher for the Marlins threw 228 2/3 innings, which is some 23 2/3 innings more than the next-closest pitcher. His six complete games were the most by any pitcher since 2017, when Ervin Santana and Corey Kluber each had five. His six complete games were also the most by an NL pitcher in the last eight years.

Alcantara finished his career with a record of 14-9, a 2.28 earned run average of a 2.99 ERA, a 0.98 WHIP, and a 207 strikeouts. Only 16 home runs were allowed while he was pitching, and he placed in the top five in numerous categories.

The native of Azua becomes only the third Dominican player in history to win the Cy Young Award, following Pedro Martinez, a Hall of Famer who won it three times, and Bartolo Colon, who won it in 2005.

His victory is particularly significant for the Marlins, who came into the game as one of just three clubs that had never won the Cy Young Award. In the past, two pitchers for the Marlins, Kevin Brown in 1996 and Dontrelle Willis in 2005, came in second place in the voting for this award.

The Colorado Rockies and the Texas Rangers are the only Major League Baseball teams that have not yet won the Cy Young Award.

Corbin Burnes, the star pitcher for the Milwaukee Brewers, came in seventh place in this year’s vote for the National League Cy Young Award. Burnes, a left-handed pitcher for the San Francisco Giants named Carlos Rodon, and Edwin Diaz, a reliever for the New York Mets, were the only pitchers outside of the top five to get a vote for second place.

Each of Kyle Wright, Logan Webb, and Ryan Helsley received at least one vote from those on the down ballot.

On Wednesday, both Alcantara and the recipient of the Cy Young Award in the American League, Justin Verlander, received unequivocal praise for their achievements. According to Sarah Langs, this is only the second occasion in the history of the award that both winners were selected by a unanimous vote. The first time was in 1968, when Denny McLain and Bob Gibson were selected.

Explore this site to stay up to date on the latest news and information pertaining to the Cricket such as World Cup, other tournament and your favorite players or teams. All you need to do to stay current is explore this site. You’ll also be able to find more sports news on this site, so what are you waiting for? Explore it more.